Posted by: symmetrywellness | August 16, 2011

What Makes for a Good Supervisor and Working Environment? by Marsha Drees, Director, Harbor Symmetry Wellness, MSSA, LISW-S, LICDC, CEAP

As I walk through the halls of my place of employment I feel very fortunate to work where I do.  I have been working here over 15 years and I remember before I did what a positive impression I had of this organization and how much I wanted to be a part of the team. 

Since becoming employed here I have been very fortunate to have been given numerous opportunities to use my skills in a wide variety of ways and to advance in my career.  I attribute most of this to my current supervisor, who sees possibilities and taps the necessary talent to make things happen.  I am glad he saw the talent in me and that he continues to help me grow as a professional.

Not everyone has been so fortunate, however.  I spoke with someone last night who left a job with a long-term employer a year ago and has a lot of bitterness about how he was treated there.  He felt de-valued, unappreciated, and under utilized.  As a result, he failed to thrive and over time lost the motivation to excel in his work; basically he floundered and ended up being forced out as a result.  I could not help but think what would have happened had he had another supervisor, someone who could have seen his talent and drawn him out more?  Would he have soared to new heights and found fulfillment in the process?  Perhaps.  Can his story be a lesson to the world of supervisors?  I think so. 

I also think along with talent it is beneficial for supervisors to ask their staff what motivates them and what type of recognition, if any, do they like to receive on the job?  What motivates one person may not motivate another person.  What forms of recognition one responds to varies too.  One person may thrive when given verbal recognition in front of her peers, while another may find this to be completely uncomfortable and would rather be given recognition directly on 1:1 basis.

The point is it is a good idea for supervisors to take time and to ask their staff for input on this.  Their input can go a long way toward getting the results one ultimately wants to see in them over time and in retaining good talent on the job.


Leave a comment

Categories